Links to visit


File:Map-Francophonie organisation 2012-fr.svg

Paris – France

The Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie (OIF), known informally and more commonly as La Francophonie (or, more simply, Francophonie) is an international organization representing countries and regions where French is the first “mother” or customary language; and/or where a significant proportion of the population is francophone (French speakers); and/or where there is a notable affiliation with French culture.

In a majority of member states, French is not the predominant native language. The prerequisite for admission to the Francophonie is not the degree of French usage in the member countries, but a prevalent presence of French culture and language in the member country’s identity, usually stemming from France’s colonial ambitions with other nations in its history.

Members of the OIF share the French language and values ​​like, including cultural diversity, peace, democratic governance, strengthening the rule of law, protection of the environment.

March 20 of each year is celebrated around the world the International Day of the Francophonie.

The organization comprises 77 member states and governments, 57 full members, 3 associate members and 20 observers, mostly from former French colonies or protectorates, with more than 890 million people on five continents.

Crédit :



Québec, Qc. Canada

Since its opening in 2008, the Centre de la francophonie des Ameriques contributes to the promotion and development of the French language in the context of cultural diversity by focusing on strengthening and Francophonie enhancing relationships and on the complementarity of action between Francophones and Francophiles of Quebec, Canada and the Americas.


Lafayette,  LA. USA

Council for the Development of French in Louisiana, or CODOFIL.

Conseil pour le développement du français en Louisiane.